Patrick Stump (if he isn’t officially already) should be hailed as one of the greatest singers alive…

He has a range that is infuriating to any XY types who try to do cover songs, and when put together with the lyrical prowess of Pete Wentz, it’s perfect.  This combination began in small underground club shows, and went worldwide, but in this video, you still see that part of them that thrives in the smaller settings (Warning: Explicit Language).

What more can I say…

A lot more.  On a brief personal tangent, Fall Out Boy has been by far the biggest lyrical inspiration of my lifetime.  Musically, Patrick is a great producer, and of course vocally he is a savant, but Pete’s words give that voice something worth singing.  One without the other would go from incredible to good in a heartbeat (as we saw with their brief solo/other-band careers).  And now a few years after their break, they are back together with the new album, Save Rock and Roll.

fall-out-boy-save-rock-and-roll-410

Save Rock and Roll in 30 words or less:

Start of a new decade for Fall Out Boy: Ambitious; infectious; perfect matching of lyrical emotion with melodic and vocal tone; eclectic production

***

My Randomly Ordered Top 7 (x2) Moments of Save Rock and Roll

1) The Phoenix”; 3:10; Patrick drops everything to showcase his vocal range and power.  I wanna see him and Bruno face off 

2) “My Songs Know What You Did in the Dark (Light ‘Em Up); :18-1:10;  I refuse to decide on a moment within this part of this song.  After the 3 year break, hearing those 52 seconds of music took me soaring.  By the time it got back around to the “whoa” I knew they would be back with force.

3) Where Did the Party Go”; :30;  Pete’s lyrics meet Patrick’s melodies incredibly well for this pre-chorus “This is the story of how they met/ her picture was on the back of a pack of cigarettes/ and when she touched him, he turned ruby red/ a story that they’ll never forget”  And I can’t leave out the vocal effect at  1:52, when Patrick exclaims “Oh dear Lord“.  Gets me every time.

4) “The Mighty Fall”; :07 and :43; This guitar rift has got to be the catchiest on the album, and this hook stands out among the rest.

5) “Just One Yesterday”; 1:26 and 2:30; This album featured a number of strange guests, one of which is Foxes.  She complements Patrick incredibly well on the second verse and then when she gets the spotlight near the end for a solo, she brings it home.  Pete’s lyrics always had such force with Patrick’s voice, but to hear them coming from the female side was a nice touch.

6) “Miss Missing You”; 1:40;  You can sing a dull melody emotionally and move people, but when the melody itself is emotional, you sing it incredibly well, and the words fit too (“give me your filth“)?  Incredible.

7) “Death Valley”; 1:38and 2:44; When Patrick repeats “baby” he taps into a soul that not caucasian should have.   He could sing with a gospel choir if he wanted.  And on the opposite side, the psuedo-dubstep, electronic break down at 2:44 shows his incredible range and vision as a producer.

***

My Randomly Ordered, Current Top 7ish lyrics of Save Rock and Roll (Subject to Change) 

 “You are the antidote to everything except for me” (Light Em Up)

“My heart is a scallion, they like it better when it’s broken” (Alone Together)

“Anything you say can and will be held against you, so only say my name” (Just One Yesterday)

“If heaven’s grief beings hell’s rain, then I’ll trade all my tomorrows for just one yesterday” (Just One Yesterday)

“Baby we should have left our love in the gutter where we found it” (The Mighty Fall)

“Sometimes…the person that you take the bullet for is behind the trigger” (Miss Missing You)

 “Don’t take love off the table yet”  (Death Valley)

“When Rome’s in ruins, we are the lions, free of the coliseum” (Young Volcanoes)

“We will teach you how to make boys next door out of a$$holes”  (Young Volcanoes)

***

I am a Fall Out Boy fan.  Period.  From “Take This to Your Grave” to “Save Rock and Roll”, they have grown, evolved, broken down, put themselves back together, and in the process created some intelligent, powerful music.  Most of my reviews in general are positive because they are for bands I already was acquainted with.  This one follows suit not because I don’t wanna give bad reviews, but because the album is good.  I was gonna check it out either way, and as expected with Fall Out Boy, I am incredibly glad I did.

Though it is not my favorite song on the album, my wife and I have tried to pay homage to the title track with a cover video.  Hope you enjoy!

Save Rock and Roll – Fall Out Boy ( Acoustic Guitar, Violin, Piano ) Cover by The Last City

Fall Out Boy – The Mighty Fall (Guitar and Violin cover by The Last City)

 

